First Year Students

Welcome First-Year Students!

We are excited to have you join us on campus for New Student Orientation where you will meet other first-year students, connect with campus, meet with an academic departments for first semester course planning, register for courses, and begin to feel at home at the University of Utah. 

In the meantime, explore the University website, get to know your Orientation Leaders (OLs), and prepare to become a part of the U community.

INTERNATIONAL STUDENTS: Please contact International Student & Scholar Services to complete Orientation.

To register for a First-Year New Student Orientation program, please select a date below that corresponds with the semester in which you are enrolling.

Fall Semester 2014

YOU MUST PAY YOUR ENROLLMENT DEPOSIT PRIOR TO REGISTERING FOR ORIENTATION. Pay your Enrollment Deposit here .

Orientation programs for first-year students beginning fall 2014 are two days in length and include an overnight stay in the on campus residence halls. Student check-in will begin at 9am on the first day and students should plan to be at orientation until 5pm on the second day. View a tentative schedule of the program.

Attendance at a complete orientation session is mandatory for all newly admitted students. Please do not make plans for the summer until your orientation session reservation has been confirmed electronically by our registration system.

 


 

The cost for fall 2014 New Student Orientation is $40 per student.

New Student Orientation is for admitted students only. Parents and family members wishing to attend a program with their student must register for the corresponding Parent & Family Orientation through the Parent & Family registration system.

Below are the dates for New Student Orientation sessions. Please click on the date you wish to attend to register for that program.

  • Monday, June 2-Tuesday, June 3

  • Thursday, June 5-Friday, June 6

  • Monday, June 9-Tuesday, June 10

  • Wednesday, June 11- Thursday, June 12 

  • Monday, June 23-Tuesday, June 24

  • Wednesday, June 25- Thursday, June 26

  • Friday, June 27-Saturday, June 28

  • Tuesday, July 1- Wednesday, July 2 

  • Monday, July 7-Tuesday, July 8

  • Thursday, July 10-Friday, July 11 

  • Tuesday, July 15- Wednesday, July 16 - PROGRAM CLOSED

 


Spring Semester 2015

Please check back at a later date.

 


Summer Semester 2014

YOU MUST PAY YOUR ENROLLMENT DEPOSIT PRIOR TO REGISTERING FOR ORIENTATION. Pay your Enrollment Deposit here.

  • Saturday, April 26, 2014- This program is now closed. Please call our office at (801) 581-7069 if you are admitted for Summer 2014 and still need to register for an Orientation. 

Attendance at a complete orientation session is mandatory for all newly admitted students.

Guests are not permitted at Summer Orientation programs and will be asked to meet their student at the conclusion of the day's sessions.


 
Last Updated: 8/22/14